Knowledge Note

Communications networks underpin regional and global trade. This is particularly true in East Africa where mobile phones are plentiful but postal services are virtually non-existent and crossborder road and railway links are subject to the vagaries of adverse environmental conditions. The countries of the East African Community (EAC) made a joint commitment in 2014 to create one network area (ONA) for the five economies of the EAC (Burundi, Kenya, Rwanda, Tanzania, Uganda), with the benefits also being extended to South Sudan. Specifically, for cross-border traffic originating in those countries, rates have been capped, mobile roaming charges eliminated and SIIT abolished.

About the Presenters

Tim Kelly

Christopher Kemei