Knowledge Note

The 48 countries of sub-Saharan Africa (SSA) represent 14 percent of the world’s population and include seven of the 10 fastest growing nations in the world: the Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC), Ethiopia, Ghana, Mozambique, Nigeria, Tanzania, and Zambia. Overall, SSA is stabilizing and growing, with fewer conflicts and banking crises since the 1990s and early 2000 (Beck, Maimbo, Faye, and Triki 2011) and more foreign direct investment (FDI) flows. FDI inflows to the region rose from $23 billion in 2006 to $38 billion in 2010, according to the UNCTAD statistics database. The increase is due to a number of factors, including consistent gross domestic product growth rates, increased political BRIEF stability, a growing middle class, and reforms that reduce barriers to entry (World Bank 2011).

About the Presenters

Jasmina Glisovic

Senayit Mesfin

Louise Moretto